Waka Ama Water Safety Tips and Tricks

Waka Ama Water Safety Tips and Tricks – Brought to you by ActivePost, Water Safety New Zealand and Waka Ama New Zealand. Waka Ama is a water sport and for many of us a way of life. We want to ensure that all our paddlers, and clubs are safe when out paddling on the ocean, harbour, rivers and lakes.

We have prepared some short clips that you can share with your team, club, paddle buddies, mates and whanau that remind us all of the things we need to do to ensure we are responsible on the water.

We will release a new clip each week. We hope you enjoy them and most importantly include the messages in your daily paddling routine.

Special thanks to Ignite Studios, Kingi Gilbert, Jaffray Ah Kuoi, Jackson Tamaariki-Campbell, Amiria Mita, Sheena Jury! And of course to our partners : ActivePost and Water Safety New Zealand.

No egos or fury animals were harmed during the filming of this production!

Kia Maanu, Kia Ora! - Stay Afloat, Stay Alive!

If you require more information about Waka Ama or Water Safety please visit:

Photo Gallery (click to enlarge)

Video Gallery

12903 paddlers have looked at this page
Updated: May 07, 2014
Hall of Fame
  1. Mar 2018
    1. Sat 24th Mar Entries closed: 19 Mar
    2. Fri 30th Mar - Mon 2nd Apr
  2. Apr 2018
    1. Sat 7th Apr Entries close: 4 Apr
    2. Sat 14th Apr Entries close: 13 Apr
    3. Sat 14th Apr Entries close: 11 Apr
    4. Sat 21st Apr
    5. Sat 21st - Sun 22nd Apr Entries close: 17 Apr
    6. Sat 21st Apr
  3. May 2018
    1. Sat 5th May
    2. Sat 19th May
  4. Jun 2018
    1. Sat 16th Jun Entries closed: 12 Jun
  5. Oct 2018
    1. Fri 5th - Sun 7th Oct
 » more events...