In 2015 the Waka Ama NZ /Ngā Kaihoe o Aotearoa Board had great pleasure in announcing the establishment of a ‘virtual’ Hall of Fame to permanently recognise outstanding contributors to the sport of waka ama in New Zealand/Aotearoa.

The concept of a Wall or Hall of Fame is commonly accepted practice in all nations that wish to honour people who have contributed and continue to contribute to the establishment and growth of particular sports, whether as competitors or administrators or both.


Marinna Millanta-Lowrey

Vivienne Harvey

George Thomas


Kiwi Campbell

Paora Howe

Tim Marshall


Raipoia Brightwell

Chrissy Herbert (posthumously)

Bo Herbert (posthumously)


Hoturoa Kerr

Maggie Greening

Corrina Gage

Alex Ryder


Louise Henderson

Ace Cuthers (posthumously)


Kris Kjeldsen (posthumously)

Matahi Brightwell

Pili Muaulu

Updated: Mar 22, 2022

367 paddlers have looked at this page