A Waka Odyssey

Call for W1 paddlers keen to be involved

Kei aku rangatira a te hoe, tena koe.

From 23-28 February 2018, the New Zealand Festival with Te Āti Awa / Taranaki whānui iwi present A Waka Odyssey an extraordinary gathering of people from around the Pacific and Aotearoa. Our nation of voyagers, discoverers, storytellers and innovators will be celebrated with a large-scale public performance on Wellington harbour to open the New Zealand Festival.

The Opening Event, Kupe will see five waka hourua from around New Zealand and the Pacific, accompanied by waka taua and waka ama, sail in to the Wellington harbour to be met by our audience on the shore. Our lead performers will be supported by a mass choir and thousand strong haka made up of local schools, choirs and community groups.

We now need your help in making this special event and seek your registration of interest to be part of the Opening Event.

If you are an experienced W1/V1 paddler, with a desire to be part of this once in a lifetime opportunity showcasing waka kaupapa to Aotearoa, please complete the online registration by Wednesday 7th  February. We are looking for 30 volunteer W1 paddlers.

If you are local to the Wellington Region, please ensure you are able to attend the rehearsal and times outlined below before registering your interest.
Please note all workshops and rehearsals will happen on Wellington harbour and/or in nearby buildings.

Dates:

·       Monday 12th February 2018 6pm Workshop for rehearsal

      Thursday 22nd February 2018 5.30pm call time for a 7pm rehearsal start:

·       Friday 23 February 2018 5.30pm call time for a 7pm show start: Opening Event Performance

·       Sunday 25 February 2018 Contingency day for Opening Event Performance 5.30pm call time for a 7pm show start.

A Waka Odyssey

A three part adventure created and written by Anna Marbrook, Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr & Kasia Pol

Register your interest here: https://goo.gl/forms/V9IWpaMYaisPHSd72 Find out more here

 

For any questions or enquiries contact:

Teone Sciascia (Waka Coordinator) on either 021 501 695 or teone.sciascia@festival.co.nz

 

 

1,766 paddlers have looked at this page
Updated: Jan 31, 2018
Hall of Fame
  1. Oct 2018
    1. Sat 20th - Sun 21st Oct Entries close: 17 Oct
    2. Sun 21st Oct Entries closed: 12 Oct
    3. Sat 27th Oct
  2. Nov 2018
    1. Sat 3rd Nov Entries close: 29 Oct
    2. Sat 3rd Nov
    3. Sun 4th Nov Entries close: 29 Oct
    4. Sun 11th Nov
    5. Fri 16th Nov
    6. Fri 16th - Sat 17th Nov Entries close: 5 Nov
    7. Sun 18th Nov Entries close: 14 Nov
    8. Sat 24th Nov
    9. Sat 24th - Sun 25th Nov Entries close: 15 Nov
 » more events...
0