Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Waka Ama Sprint Championships Club Points - Winners 2020

Story Thumb

Congratulations to the Horouta Waka Hoe Club who once again won the prestigious Club Points Trophy.

Since 2011 Nga Kaihoe o Aotearoa (Waka Ama New Zealand) have awarded 2 new trophies. The Trophies were carved by Matahi Whakataka Brightwell who has been instrumental in the re-birth and growth of the sport of Waka Ama in Aotearoa. Matahi Brightwell. 

The Club points trophy recognises a clubs paddling excellence and achievement throughout the week. Points are accumulated throughout the week from all finals and the club with the most points at the end of the week awarded this honour.

Horouta Waka Hoe has won this trophy 9 times in the passed 10 years! A truly outstanding achievement and one that should not be understated. To reach this level of excellence consistently across nearly all of the age divisions year in and year out is not something that happens by chance. It is through the many thousands of hours of organisation, coaching, managing, fundraising, communicating, more coaching and then some more organising!

This years points:

1st = Horouta - 374.5 points

2nd = Manukau - 157.5 points

3rd = Hei Matau - 153.7 points


  1. 2020 Waka Ama Nats Points.pdf
    115 kB

Photo Gallery (click to enlarge)

82680448_10222638988982820_5826327551697485824_n.jpg 82725741_2951320131546988_8872114652016803840_o.jpg 82214744_3285261664823278_6771683023579512832_o.jpg
1,479 paddlers have looked at this page
Updated: Jan 22, 2020